top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureforeignmorg

Blog 1

Over the past few weeks while traveling through Europe, I have noticed different religious statues resembling similar narratives of Biblical history. At the Vatican in Rome, our tour guide pointed out the famous statue sculpted by Michelangelo of lifeless Jesus being held by Mary. Over spring break, I went to a few different countries including Prague, Czech Republic. While visiting Prague my friends and I went to the Prague castle. I was having a difficult time finding religious statues that stood out to me. But at the castle I noticed the statue that was extremely similar to the one at the Vatican.

Statue inside of The Vatican

I believe Michelangelo’s statue represents the Biblical story of Jesus being held by Mary after sacrificing himself. The piece is very moving itself in the details of the slim and sacrificed Christ. Although this piece has great detail, I believe it is used more as a tool for storytelling.

Statue in front of the Prague Castle

To me, the statue in front of the Prague castle represents a similar story. This particular statue seemed to be a little more extravagant in its details. Jesus appears to have a golden halo while being held by who seems to be an angel, possibly Mary. There is a small cherub worshiping him at his feet while another one holds a cross over his lifeless body. The façade of this statue is definitely greater and possibly used as a tool of worship.


I know that European countries tend to practice their religion more fluently than other nations, but I was very surprised to see two very similar statues in two different countries which is extremely powerful.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 7

Throughout history, the Catholic Church has not always been the most involved with the Internet and media. As time and media have progressed, the Church has become more engaged in the internet. Now me

Blog 6

Pope Francis and the Catholic Church have a great relationship. The relationship is unlike any other between the media and a pope. The media portrays Pope Francis as very humble and relatable to the c

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page